Dani Valent

Dani Valent

Food writer and restaurant reviewer

Stavros Tavern

Stavros Tavern's old-school menu ticks off saganaki, souvlaki and spanakopita.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Feb 08 11:58:34 EST 2016

Anju

Anju's big Korean flavours marry well with alcohol. Kick back with a beer tower and share-friendly snacks.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Feb 01 13:25:25 EST 2016

Copper Pot

Copper Pot's menu is a pan-European melting pot.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Wed Jan 27 16:08:46 EST 2016

Kiosk d'Asporto

Brioche with gelato.

This new Williamstown Beach takeaway joint serves Italian snacks from gelati to panini.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Jan 25 15:46:59 EST 2016

Tetsujin

Rainbow inside-out roll at Tetsujin.

Dani Valent jumps aboard Emporium Melbourne's new sushi train.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Jan 18 09:47:26 EST 2016

The Craft & Co

Charcuterie and cheese platter at Craft & Co in Collingwood.

This Collingwood newcomer combines a cafe, restaurant, coffee roastery, beer brewery, spirit still, wine store, meat curing depot, cheesery and DIY shop.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Jan 04 15:29:47 EST 2016

Las Chicas

A recent renovation has sparked a new golden age at this Balaclava brunch stalwart.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Tue Dec 29 11:52:34 EST 2015

Ichi Ni Nana

Stop wondering where you'll be hanging out this summer. It's here.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Dec 21 11:05:18 EST 2015

Cucina Povera 1889

Pizza Brigante at Cucina Povera 1889.

Life can be complicated. Food doesn't need to be. And pizza should always be simple.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Dec 14 09:00:01 EST 2015

Prohibition Food and Wine

Confit garlic doughnuts at Prohibition in Camberwell.

Prohibition's confit garlic doughnuts might be this summer's key drinking snack.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Dec 07 10:20:52 EST 2015

The Cellar Door, Eastland

Weary shoppers can refuel at this restaurant and rooftop garden bar.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Nov 30 11:03:27 EST 2015

Easey's burgers

An 'Easey's Burger' and a blue heaven doughnut at Easey's in Collingwood.

Hip-hop, graffiti and stunningly unhealthy food are the heroes at this rooftop burger joint.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Nov 23 10:06:33 EST 2015

Northcote Social Club

Chicken parmigiana at Northcote Social Club.

Jalapenos, chipotle chilli and smoked paprika don't magically make average food awesome.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Nov 16 10:46:57 EST 2015

Sun Moth

Eggplant parmigiana at Sun Moth.

Hidden laneway canteen covers morning coffees to knock-off drinks.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Nov 09 11:35:22 EST 2015

House of Hoi An

Beef satay rice paper rolls at House of Hoi An.

House of Hoi An is not your typical pho joint.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Nov 02 09:11:37 EST 2015

Welcome to Thornbury

Mac and cheese, pulled pork, caramelised onion and cheddar toastie from Toasta.

Permanent food truck park delivers van-eating upside without most of the messy downside.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Sun Oct 25 00:00:00 EST 2015

Magic Mountain Saloon

Crepe cake layered with tea-flavoured cream at Magic Mountain Saloon.

All-day Thai diner serves everything from cocktails to crepe cake.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Oct 19 09:28:12 EST 2015

North & Eight

'Northella Houseshake' at North & Eight in Essendon.

Melbourne is in the midst of a breakfast menu smackdown.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Mon Oct 12 00:00:00 EST 2015

Like Minded Projects

Even if you're not on a #cleaneating hashtag jag, there's plenty to like at this small food court.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Sun Oct 04 00:00:00 EST 2015

Trattoria Emilia

Secret recipe: Tagliatelle alla Bolgnese at Trattoria Emilia.

The reinvented Gills Diner is an all-day celebration of Emilia Romagna, in north-eastern Italy.

Eat Out | Dani Valent | Sun Sep 27 00:00:00 EST 2015