Good Food - Rachel Olding

Rachel Olding

Reporter

Follow Rachel Olding on:

Rachel Olding is a Reporter for The Sydney Morning Herald.

Brooklyn Social

Brooklyn Social is a good, down-to-earth neighbourhood hangout - if you're prepared to queue, that is.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Jul 29 10:11:13 EST 2014

Chester White Cured Diner

There is something about Chester White Cured Diner that makes you feel as though you're cosying up in your own living room.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Jul 22 11:07:57 EST 2014

The Garden Tap

This North Turramurra haunt is a country-style mini-pub where the food is decent and the vibe is casual.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Jul 01 13:01:07 EST 2014

Ko and Co

Ko and Co

Fusing Korean and Mexican in the confines of a 40-seater could go seriously wrong, but Ko and Co is a testament to keeping it simple, very simple.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Jun 24 11:47:13 EST 2014

The Brewery Bar

The Brewery Bar, Alexandria.

Craft beer and Alexandria have both been flavours of the month for a while now, so why not combine both?

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Jun 03 12:01:50 EST 2014

Kubrick's

It's refreshing to see a drinking hole taking its inspiration from abstract sculptures, vinyl records and crisp white shirts.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue May 27 15:10:15 EST 2014

New Hampton

This Kings Cross bar is a party spot; a glamorous bar filled with glamorous people.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue May 20 11:56:31 EST 2014

The Blind Bear

Cronulla is welcoming a bevy of hot, new restaurants and bars bringing some class and cred to the Shire.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Apr 29 11:32:10 EST 2014

Mr Moustache

Tinga de Pato at Mr Moustache in Bondi.

This Bondi bolthole has donned his bow tie and is trying to lift his taco, guacamole and tequila game.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Apr 15 10:32:27 EST 2014

Bat Country

Randwick has joined the small bar party and they've invited Gonzo journalist Hunter S. Thompson.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Apr 08 10:52:38 EST 2014

Donny's Bar

In another life, this would be my dream New York loft apartment.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Mar 25 11:57:37 EST 2014

Papa Gede's

What do you get when you combine three flatmates, the spirit of witch-doctor apothecary, the rums of Haiti and a hidden laneway?

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Mar 04 00:00:00 EST 2014

SoCal

We've had New Orleans soul food, New York brunch, 1950s diners and Tex-Mex galore. Next up: Southern Californian coastline.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Feb 18 00:00:00 EST 2014

Oxford Tavern

The Oxford Tavern

The renovation of this crusty old suburban topless bar is a beauty.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Feb 04 00:00:00 EST 2014

Cafe Nice

Lemon and Thyme Smash.

Cafe Nice has ditched the Fratelli bunch sleek Italian vibe in favour of the French Riviera.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Dec 10 07:44:21 EST 2013

Far North

Brodie Stewart

A relaxed, casual vibe makes it easy to linger at this northern newbie.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Nov 26 00:00:00 EST 2013

Golden Age Cinema & Bar

Buttered Popcorn Flip cocktail.

This mini cinema and adjoining bar are breathing a bit of life back into a trip to the movies.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Nov 19 00:00:00 EST 2013

The Royal Hotel

A full makeover transforms the upstairs bar into a classy garden party featuring summery gin cocktails.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Nov 05 00:00:00 EST 2013

465 The Avenue

Roll up, roll up, the big, bombastic bar circus has come to Chatswood.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Oct 29 00:00:00 EST 2013

The Wanderer

The Wanderer

Like the cold seas in the poem from which this bar draws its name, this is one of those little places you'll eventually stumble upon.

Eat Out | Rachel Olding | Tue Oct 22 00:00:00 EST 2013